Who we are

The agency is managed by an Executive Director whose functions and powers are defined in Article 68 of Regulation (EU) No 2016/1624. Three Deputy Executive Directors will each oversee specific tasks of the Agency and report directly to the Executive Director. The tasks are performed by nine Divisions, a Cabinet (covering Media and Public Relations Office, Brussels Office and Registration Office), offices (Inspection and Control and Internal Audit Capability) and Permanent Premises for the Frontex Headquarters Task Force.

The Divisions are following:

  • Situational Awareness and Monitoring Division
    (Coordination Office; Information Fusion Centre; Frontex Situation Centre; Risk Analysis Unit; Vulnerability Assessment Unit)
  • International and European Cooperation Division
    (Coordination Office; International Cooperation Unit; Institutional Partnership Unit; Liaison Officers Networks)
  • Operational Response Division
    (Coordination Office; Field Operations Unit; Coast Guard and Law Enforcement Unit; Centre of Excellence for Combatting Document Fraud)
  • European Centre for Returns
    (Coordination Office; Pre-Return Unit; Return Operations and Voluntary Returns Unit; Post-Return Unit)
  • Capacity Building Division
    (Coordination Office; Capability Programming Office; Engineering and Acquisition Unit; Research and Innovation Unit; Training Unit)
  • Deployment Management Division
    (Coordination Office; Standing Corps Preparedness and Deployment Unit; Logistics Unit)
  • ETIAS Central Unit Division
    (Coordination Office; Data Management Office; Application Handlers Unit; Assistance Centre Unit)
  • Financial, Digital and Security Division
    (Coordination Office; Security Unit; Financial Services Unit; Digital Services Unit)
  • Governance Support Centre
    (Coordination Office; Human Resources Unit; Legal and Procurement Unit)

An independent Fundamental Rights Officer reports directly to the Management Board and cooperates with the Consultative Forum which assists the Executive Director and the Management Board with independent advice in fundamental rights matters.

Files available for download

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.
More information