Other Partners and Projects

Latvia: Valsts robežsardze

The State Border Guard was founded on 15 November 1919, when the leaders of the Republic of Latvia assigned the protection of the State border to the Border Guard division of the Latvian Army. The State Border Guard was reborn on 13 December 1991, when the Minister of Defence of the Republic of Latvia signed an order to establish an individual border control point for the city of Riga. The State Border Guard was under the supervision of the Minister of Defense until 1997 when it was given over to the Minister of the Interior. At present the State Border Guard includes a Headquarters located in the capital of the Republic of Latvia, and six territorial departments. Border Guards receive education at the State Border Guard College which is located near European Union external border in Rezekne.


Lithuania: Valstybės sienos apsaugos tarnyba

The State Border Guard Service is the agency under the Ministry of the Interior of the Republic of Lithuania (SBGS). The SBGS is headed by the Commander of the Service. In 2020, on 29 June, Lithuanian Border Guards will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the formation of the first border guard units in the independent State of Lithuania. The SBGS is made up of the Service’s Headquarters, frontier districts and Border Guards School. The Lithuanian State border is 1766 km long of which 1073 km are EU external borders.


Luxembourg: Police Grand Ducale

In Luxembourg the "Police grand-ducale" is competent for police matters in general and for border security in particular. The "Police grand-ducale" is the only national police force and was reorganized in 2000, being a merger of the "Gendarmerie grand-ducale" and the former Police. The "Unité Centrale de Police à l'Aéroport" , the national airport police unit, is in charge of the only external border - the International Airport at Luxembourg-Findel.

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.
More information